That Dam Feeling

Amsterdam is on the horizon and I’m excited.

As this will be the 5th time I’ve visited Amsterdam, I know it like the back of my hand so I decided to visit for one day only, arriving in the morning and leaving at around 8pm in the evening!

I’ve been to some impressive destinations including Lisbon, Vancouver and Athens over the years but personally Amsterdam is one of my favourite cities in the world. Its architecture is incredible, the culture is addictive and the distance from Southampton is perfectly convenient. With the weather being warm it’s ideal for a stroll around the city where I’ll definitely be visiting a few coffee shops and checking out a few museums too. Lets hope the weather holds out!

One thing I’ve noticed about my trips is my determination to do them alone, even when I visit London. People have expressed wanting to come, but I’m just not feeling it. If I was to dig a little deeper I’d probably tell you it’s mix of escapism and fulfilling my dreams.

This weekend I’m out celebrating a birthday with some friends, hopefully it will cure this emotional hangover of the last week or so, if not I’m sure Amsterdam will!

Leave a comment